Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between standard rate, block rates and club?
To get the block discounts, you must purchase flight time in advance. This purchase is done through your online Flight Schedule Pro account. You will purchase the hours at the discounted rate plus tax and your account will be credited as if you purchased those hours at $131 per hour plus tax. The club rate is the best option if you are going to be flying consistently at least 3 hours per month.
What does "No insurance risk" mean?
In the event of an accident with one of our aircraft, you are liable for the insurance deductible. For club members, Leighnor Aircraft will pay the deductible in the event of an accident. We would still advise you to carry renter's insurance regardless as that insurance protects more than just insurance deductibles.
How are aircraft rentals and memberships taxed?
The state of Arizona taxes our operations under the Transaction Privilege Tax or TPT. The city of Prescott also has sales tax that we must pay. Rates quoted do not include tax, which is added at the time of purchase.
Taxes are also collected on flying club memberships and are collected each month with the membership dues.
Why is "Hangared Airplane" important?
Our airplane is not exposed to the elements and the harsh Arizona sun. In addition, when you get into the airplane to fly, the cockpit is not extremely hot or very cold, depending on the time of year. You also do not have to worry frost on the windshield or flying surfaces.
Can my block purchase money be refunded?
Money on account refunded after 6 months has a 50% penalty and after a year, there is no refund as is specified by the Rental Agreement.
However, we think you'll love flying this plane so much that no refunds will be necessary.
Does my Flight Schedule Pro subscription cost money, or expire?
The Flight Schedule Pro subscription is free and never expires. Leighnor Aircraft pays the full cost of operating this system.
How are the aircraft maintained?
Maintenance is tracked in Flight Schedule Pro and aircraft cannot be dispatched without maintenance being current. We also frequently clean and vacuum the aircraft to ensure a good experience for our renter pilots.
The rate published is "wet" or fuel included. How is fuel handled?
If you fuel locally at Prescott, Leighnor Aircraft has an account with Legend Aviation and they will just refuel the airplane and charge the fuel purchase to our account.
There is a self-service card for Legend Aviation in the aircraft's log book which can be used at their self-service pumps. Fueling at self-service does save money on fuel costs.
If you purchase fuel away from Prescott, you will need to pay the cost of the fuel, then this amount is deducted from your rental charges. You should leave the receipt for fuel in the aircraft's log book.
Should you carry renter's insurance?
Absolutely yes, we strongly recommend renter's insurance. While the flying club membership will save you from some insurance deductible exposure, that is not the extent of your exposure in the event of an accident.
If the NTSB or FAA rules an accident "pilot error", it's likely the insurance companies will come after the pilot for some of the accident cost. A good aviation renter's insurance policy will protect against this type of exposure and more.
Leighnor Aircraft does require renter's insurance to rent our aircraft. But we highly recommend having a renter's insurance policy.
What are the insurance deductibles?
Insurance deductibles are the money paid first before any claim reimbursement is made. Our aircraft policy has a $1,000 flying accident deductible and a $250 non-flying accident deductible. The renting pilot or their renter's insurance is liable for this deductible, unless you're a flying club member.
If the accident is ruled "pilot error", then the insurance company may seek reimbursement from the pilot and these deductibles are not waived.
This exposure is why Leighnor Aircraft strongly recommends aviation renter's insurance be carried by all pilots.
How do I join or leave the flying club?
Simply by emailing email@example.com and stating your request. Memberships will start the first of the next month, but you're active immediately at the club rate.
Please provide 15 days notification of intent to cancel membership so we may remove the auto-pay subscription. If a request is received late, the subscription will cancel at the end of the next month.
Is there any limit to the flying credits earned on the referral program?
No, there is no limit. If the pilots you refer fly, you get credits to spend on flying.
Are referral credits refundable as cash?
No, referral credits are not refundable as cash.
What do I need to fly under BasicMed?
Hold a U.S. driver’s license.
Hold or have held a medical certificate issued by the FAA at any point after July 15, 2006.
Answer the health questions on the Comprehensive Medical Examination Checklist (CMEC).
Get your physical examination by any state-licensed physician, and have that physician complete the CMEC (be sure to keep the CMEC).
Take the online medical education course and complete the attestations/consent to the National Driver Register (NDR) check. Keep the course completion document.
What are my BasicMed privileges?
You can conduct any operation that you would otherwise be able to conduct using your pilot certificate and a third-class medical certificate, except you are limited to:
Fly with no more than five passengers.
Fly an aircraft under 6,000 lbs maximum certificated takeoff weight.
Fly an aircraft that is authorized to carry no more than 6 occupants.
Flights within the United States, at an indicated airspeed of 250 knots or less, and at an altitude at or below 18,000 feet mean sea level (MSL).
You may not fly for compensation or hire.
What do I need to maintain my BasicMed privileges?
Be sure you have a CMEC that shows that your most recent physical examination was within the past 48 months.
Be sure you are being treated by a physician for medical conditions that can affect the safety of flight.
Be sure you have a course completion certificate that was issued by an approved medical training course provider within the past 24 calendar months.